Which classes are protected under the New York State Human Rights Law?

Which of the following classes are protected under the New York State Human Rights Law?

Protected Classes under the Human Rights Law:

Disability. Gender (including sexual harassment) Gender Identity. Marital status and partnership status.

What are the protected classes in New York City?

What Are the Protected Classes in New York?

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • National origin.
  • Religion.
  • Sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions)
  • Disability (physical or mental)
  • Age (40 and older)
  • Citizenship status.

What are the 17 protected classes?

Protected Classes

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion (includes religious dress and grooming practices)
  • Sex/gender (includes pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding and/ or related medical conditions)
  • Gender identity, gender expression.
  • Sexual orientation.
  • Marital status.

Who are considered protected class?

Protected Class: The groups protected from the employment discrimination by law. These groups include men and women on the basis of sex; any group which shares a common race, religion, color, or national origin; people over 40; and people with physical or mental handicaps.

What classes are protected under federal law?

What are the protected classes? Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability. The law is not, however, a blanket bar on employers taking into account a person’s membership in one of these groups in all circumstances.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Can you password protect a tab?

Which of the following classes is not protected under the Fair Housing Act of 1968?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws. 4.

Is age a protected class in New York?

Federal law protects many workers who are age 40 or older from being discriminated against based on their age. … As of February 8, 2020, New York State law prohibits all employers, regardless of size, from making hiring, firing or other employment decisions based on age.

What is the New York State Human Rights Law?

The New York Human Rights Law (NYHRL) is article 15 of the Executive Law (which is itself chapter 18 of the Consolidated Laws of New York) which prohibits discrimination on the basis of “age, race, creed, color, national origin, sexual orientation, military status, sex, marital status or disability” in employment,

What are the 7 federal protected classes?

To briefly review, the federal Fair Housing Act (FHA) has seven protected classes, which include: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status.

What are the 11 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

What are California’s protected classes?

California law protects individuals from illegal discrimination by employers based on the following: Race, color. Ancestry, national origin. Religion, creed.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Are all securities publicly traded?