When did family status become a protected class?

Is family status a protected class?

All families with children are protected by the FHA against familial status discrimination, including single-parent households and same-sex couples with children.

What year was familial status in fair housing?

When originally passed in 1968, the Fair Housing Act only covered four protective classes: race, color, religion, and national origin. Sex was added as a protective class in 1974. In 1988, disability and familial status were included as protective classes as well.

What does familial status as a protected class mean?

What does “familial status” mean? Familial status means the makeup of your family. The FHA prohibits discrimination on this basis including: children under the age of 18 living with parents/guardians, pregnant women, and people seeking custody of children under 18.

Which groups are protected by familial status?

Familial status covers: families with children under the age of 18, pregnant persons, and. any person in the process of securing legal custody of a minor child (including adoptive or foster parents).

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Is NFS secure over Internet?

Which family is not protected under the familial status provisions of the Fair Housing Act?

Which family is NOT protected under the familial status provisions of the Fair Housing Act? The answer is a 55-year-old father, 40-year-old mother, and 17-year-old son who want to purchase a home in an age-restricted adults-only community.

Who may be exempt from the Fair Housing Act of 1968?

The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In very limited circumstances, the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family houses sold or rented by the owner without the use of an agent, and housing operated by religious organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

Which of the following protected classes were added after 1968?

These were: religion, national origin, color, and race. Later, familial status, disability, and sex were added to the list of protected classes. And two years ago, a federal judge gave a ruling that included gender and sexual orientation to the list of protected classes.

Is marital status part of familial status?

The marital status of the tenant does not come into play under the “familial status” rule. It makes no difference whether the adults in the family are single, divorced, married, separated, or widowed as far as the FHA is concerned.

What is the significance of the Civil Rights Act of 1968?

An expansion of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Civil Rights Act of 1968, popularly known as the Fair Housing Act, prohibits discrimination concerning the sale, rental, or financing of housing based on race, religion, national origin, and sex.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  How do I protect multiple sheets in Excel 2010?

Is ethnicity a protected class?

Everyone is protected from race and color discrimination. Whites, Blacks, Asians, Latinos, Arabs, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, persons of more than one race, and all other persons, whatever their race, color, or ethnicity.

Why was familial status added to fair housing?

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) outlaws discrimination against tenants based on certain personal characteristics, commonly known as “protected classes.” The FHA added “familial status” as a protected class in 1989 to make sure that families with children aren’t treated differently when renting.

What determines a protected class?

Protected Class: The groups protected from the employment discrimination by law. These groups include men and women on the basis of sex; any group which shares a common race, religion, color, or national origin; people over 40; and people with physical or mental handicaps.